top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss P. Pan

Don't Be a Strictly Fair Weather Traveler

Did you know that the months of May to September are not the only months you can travel?


Of course, that is sarcasm. BUT, have you ever considered travelling during the winter? Many folks escape winter by heading to tropical locations from November to February (myself included) which is a welcome reprieve from the cold and rain, I understand. Travelling during the colder months to equally cold locations can be very rewarding though, and maybe I can convince you to try it out sometime.


I didn't notice for some time, but I seem to be a very off-peak traveler. One of the main reasons is that I love to be in BC in the summertime - my home. BC has loads to offer from lakes to the ocean to mountains which allows me to do all of the fun summer activities I love without really having to travel far at all. Usually I have this on the brain when I am planning international travel, and it is the most ideal time to stay home. Then, there's winter. No months are worse than January - March, which to me makes it the absolute best time to travel. Having something to look forward to in January makes the holidays fantastic and their end not so horrible, which I appreciate at this very time of the year. Travel during this time is also significantly cheaper, with less people bogging up the airports and tours that I want to do once I am at my destination. I am not talking about the tropical locations where you can kick it on a beach, but rather about visiting places at the same latitude, embracing the poorer weather, and taking advantage of the perks. Flying on or after January 7th is significantly cheaper than the Holiday black-out period from early to mid-December until about the 6th, saving you some money to spend spoiling yourself at your destination.

I find that you often have opportunities for more authentic experiences when you travel at off-peak times as well. In places that are typically not traveled as frequently during the winter time, such as Scotland, Ireland, or Canada, locals who are usually busy with a multitude of travelers have more time to interact with you, the really great restaurants are easier to get into, and tours can be booked on shorter notice (and have fewer people on them). Travelling off-peak has allowed me to have private distillery tours since our group was so small, have dinner with local families I've met, and take part in activities that just aren't offered when hostels or bars are too busy. One major perk is also the clothing - comfy and warm. Forget hustling onto a crowded tram sweating to death in sweltering heat. I will trade that in for warm boots and cooler weather any time. Sure, rain can be a bit of a drag from time to time, but I will take that over having my bare legs stuck to a plastic seat at a restaurant somewhere everyday. Not to mention the cheap plane tickets I've bought getting around in the middle of January or February!


Now, this is not to say there aren't some perks to travelling during the summertime. The weather is much more likely to cooperate with you, travelling to truly northern locations becomes more feasible in the warmer months, and summertime activities like boating and swimming become available. It's great to be able to do a bit of both. I only caution travelers not to miss out on off-peak travel, easily the most authentic and cheapest time to travel. A woman I will be working for in the Scottish highlands in January warned me of the cold and the dark that will come with the time of year I was visiting, but she was also thrilled I would be visiting Skye that time of year. "That is what Skye is supposed to be", she told me, without the swarms of tourists. I can't wait to embrace the rain and the wild landscape - just how I remember it from the last time I visited (in March).

Don't be afraid to stray from being a fair weather traveler. You might just find the most authentic experiences, and get your cloudy 'mood' pics while you're at it. No matter what your experience is, I can't imagine it would be negative when it's just you, the locals and the nature. Dress warm!

Photo Guide

Photo 1: Campbell River, BC, Canada

Photo 2: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page